Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Nicole tutors in Germantown, MD

Nicole M.

Private tutor in Germantown, MD

Education

Cornell University - BA, Linguistics and French, Cognitive Studies minor , University of California, Berkeley - PhD, Linguistics

Experience

I graduated from Cornell University with a bachelor's in French and Linguistics. I also studied at U.C. Berkeley, where I earned a master's and PhD in Linguistics. I've spent a lot of time living and studying in multiple areas of France, including Toulouse, Paris, Bordeaux, Provence, Pau, Normandy, and Tarbes. While in undergrad, I participated in a study abroad program in Paris, and was involved in independent study coursework in southwestern France. Then, in graduate school, I revisited southwestern France to conduct research for my dissertation on Gascon, a language at risk of dying.My in-depth academic expertise in French and my extensive travel experience make me a well-rounded teacher of the language. I believe in the interplay between culture and language, and I reflect that notion in my teaching practice. Aside from French, I had the opportunity to pick up other skills that hone my abilities as a tutor, specifically in research and writing. In graduate school, I acted as a Teaching Assistant, which gave me experience assisting students with their research, essay-writing, and editing. In this role, I stressed the importance of organization, structure, and proper usage of citations when helping students with academic writing. I have come to realize that as an educator, it's as important to teach the subject matter as it is to give students useful scheduling and organizing tools.I like to balance my free time between staying active and engaging in cultural events. I enjoy museum visits, concerts, and festivals.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

cultural events, hiking, reading

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!